New mathematical formula, recently proven by young-ish Chicago resident, dazzles math world:

1 hour “wintry mix”
+
freezing temperatures which turn “wintry mix” to “base layer of ice”
+
overnight snow
+
just enough sunshine to make everything glisteningly damp
=
most treacherous walk to the train EVER.

Seriously, I almost ate it like 5 times.
********************
In an effort to be more cost-conscious, and in reaction to the recent decision by my favorite coffee shop to raise the price of a small cafe au lait to OVER THREE DOLLARS, I’ve decided to start drinking the coffee made by our office. Starting today. I had to use non-dairy creamer. I want to cry.

********************

Two things of note in today’s news:

Thing the first:

Pepsi is releasing a new (old) version which uses real sugar instead of high fructose corn syrup.

I’m all for moving away from the high fructose corn syrup, and I’m relieved that I will no longer have to seek out Mexican Coke to get my HFCS-free cola fix, but really?  “Throwback?”  Somehow the name just seems a little…silly.

Thing the second:
Disney has its first black princess, which is pretty cool and all.

But in this interview with People, when Anika Noni Rose says:

“Not only is she the first black princess, she’s the first American princess. We’ve never had an American princess. So, the scope and the significance is larger than people even realize.”

it makes me a little nutso. I mean, say what you will about her mediocre movie, but can’t we all agree at least that Pocahontas was American?

