It was an errand-filled weekend here at Casa de Pseudostoops, capped by a riveting Sunday afternoon spent spackling.

Yes, you heard correctly: we spackled.

It’s a great word, isn’t it? I kind of love saying it: “What did you do this weekend?” “Oh, I spackled.”

Relatedly, a public service announcement: If you buy this chair:

and place it less than one foot from a wall:

and allow your full size adult friends to sit on it, thus engaging its pleasant, gentle rocking function:

The end result will be: you will need to spackle.

Finally, and also relatedly: has anyone had any luck with those paint matching services that places like Home Depot advertise?  We don’t have the original paint for our living room (it was this color when we moved in) but we would like to make the spackled patches a little less, um, glaringly white and obvious.  What would be the best way for me to try to get new paint that matches the current paint?  (I’d rather not hack a piece of it off the wall to bring in, though I suppose if I could if I must, as I’ve become something of an expert in paint repair via spackle.)

