There’s a lovely blog list thing going around where people reflect on the past year and think about the year ahead, and in my head I had kind of made a pre-New Year’s resolution that my first act of 2009 (aside from drinking too much and kissing John and then sleeping) would be to fill it out, but I’m feeling tired and a little foggy so instead I’m going off-script and stream-of-consciousness. Lucky you! Happy new year!

I’ve been out of town since last we spoke, visiting my family and John’s family. I didn’t touch a computer for 8 whole days. (Though I did check email and twitter on my iphone. I’m not totally self-punishing.)

Going to LA at the holidays profoundly weirds me out, as there are all these palm trees sporting twinkly lights and people wearing fleeces and uggs with their miniskirts and whining about the 68 degree weather, and frankly, unless the weather is such that there’s actual risk of frostbite it’s hard for me to feel really Christmas-y, you know.  Also, there was some stuff about inlaws and stress my poor coping skills, and there was a little crying and some gnashing of teeth and my recently-diagnosed TMJ did NOT get any better this past week, and that’s all I’m going to say about that.

But! Now it is a new year, and a fresh start, and we ate some truly delicious AND sort of healthy pancakes this morning (is that something you would like a recipe for? I’m toying with the idea of adding a recipe feature to this site, but I’m no smitten, so I’m not sure I’d be adding much) so I’m successfully feeling both decadent and virtuous, and that’s a pretty good way to start a new year.

I’m feeling so good, in fact, that I’m going to do a very foolish thing and actually put my resolutions IN WRITING, where people can read them, and where I might feel sort of accountable towards actually, you know, doing them.

Resolution the first: Reach out more, in all ways. I have lovely friends who I don’t call/email/write/see enough, and I resolve to make more of a concerted effort to be in regular touch. It means a lot to me when my friends call or write for no other reason than to just say hi, and yet it seems to be impossible for me to muster the effort to do the same for them. That sucks. I want to be better.

Resolution the second: Read more, both professionally and personally. I already read a fair amount, but I’m kind of ADD about it- I read the first few paragraphs of an article, or have several news sites open at once so I can skim the headlines, but I’m spending too much time scanning the internet and too little time actually sitting down and focusing on print. My book club gives me at least one book a month, but I have a long list of “to reads” that I’m going to start attacking this year. (To that end, I always like adding books to me “to read” list, so if you read anything amazing this year, please let me know!)

Resolution the third: Keep exercising. This year, I actually got into a pretty solid habit of exercise. I love what it’s done for my mood and my health, and I want to keep it up. I don’t know if it counts as a resolution if you’re essentially saying “um, don’t eff up and stop doing this thing you’ve finally succeeded at,” but I think it will help keep me honest to write it down.

Resolution the fourth: learn Spanish. Classes start in January. Que bueno!

Do you all have any good resolutions?  (Or, if you did that meme I mentioned before that I was too lazy to do, send me a link!  I love READING them, I’m just not up to WRITING one.)

Happy New Year!

