Several weeks ago I did a post featuring some highlights of the Interests and Activities sections of the several hundred resumes I had received for intern positions. (Update: We did not hire the whittler, but we did hire the erstwhile racer. The beer snob turned us down.)

Two days after I posted the list, (of course), I got a resume with the most unbelievable Interests and Activities section I have ever seen. This candidate carefully listed his interests in “Paris in September, Ella, Aretha, fine German wristwatches, golden retrievers, and bespoke.”

I mean honestly. Paris in September? Fine German wristwatches? Bespoke? Did he include that just to show off his vocabulary? I was pretty sure I knew what it meant, but I had to look it up to double check. (adj: (of clothes) made to individual order; custom-made.)

In addition to being insufferable on paper, this candidate was also very qualified, so we interviewed and then actually hired him. I absolutely cannot wait to see his wardrobe.

I am fascinated by this idea of bespoke. It makes sense, I suppose, in a culture where it’s totally normal for there to be 87000 possible variations on a coffee beverage, for people to like things just the way they want them, and to be willing to pay a premium for super-custom items. Is this idea of bespoke really catching on? Let’s take a little tour of bespoke on the internet, shall we?

Of course there are clothes (if it’s good enough for Deion Sanders, it’s good enough for me):

You can get a bespoke gift basket (though this one seems a little obvious- people expect to be able to customize corporate gift baskets, don’t they?)

You can schedule a bespoke cooking party, where you get to choose the food you and your friends will make in the caterer’s kitchen for $100 a person:

Rolls Royce offers a Bespoke programme, (“a service designed to help our customers realize the particular vision they have for their Rolls Royce”):

When in Paris, it’s apparently trendy to get yourself some bespoke perfume (and for a mere 30,000 Euro they’ll guarantee that no one else can ever use your formula):

But my personal favorite has to be this one: bespoke chocolates. The master chocolatier will help you design a bespoke chocolate portfolio, using a series of interviews to learn your tastes, the sending of some samples, and finally, a collection of 120 chocolates presented in a hand-made custom wooden box.

Note: my birthday is in May. For anyone looking for that perfect gift, $2400 seems like a reasonable price tag for 120 pieces of custom-designed chocolate, no?

