img_0720.jpg If you look carefully, you’ll notice a charming winter scene, viewed from my apartment window.

Trouble is, it was taken this morning. April 10. Well into Spring. What the hell is up with the snow?

The way I feel about winter is sort of the same as the way I feel about law school these days: ready for it to be over. Sure, I have pangs of wistfulness when I think about my friends and all the free time we have to hang out together that’s going to evaporate the instant they hit the law firm. Mostly, though, I’m just done. Done with the reading, done with the lunch talks, done with the administration, just done. Ready to move on.

img_0653.jpg

To prepare to move on, I looked deep into my soul, evaluated whether I was ever going to open one of my old law school books again, decided that the answer was “definitely not,” packed them up in a box, and sold them to a used law book store. For three years worth of books, most in excellent condition, I got: eighty-five dollars. Yes, folks, that’s right! You too can trade in thousands of dollars of legal textbooks for less than 100 bucks! What a deal! Meh, I was just ready to be rid of them. Because I’m ready to move on, remember?

This toe-tapping, watch-looking, day-counting readiness to go is not a new feeling. Since college I have never done anything for longer than three years. I did a one year fellowship, then a two year program, and now my three years of law school. Each time, as I neared the end, I started itching to go, move on, get to the next chapter. In fact, in law school, I’ve been feeling it since the start of this last year- so maybe my interest maxes out after two years? If I’m honest with myself, I never really enjoyed the ending weeks of anything as much as I should because instead of spending quality time with my friends, writing meaningful messages in yearbooks and taking group photos, I was too preoccupied with what came beyond, where I was heading next, how I was going to fit all my stuff in my car for the drive cross-country to the new job, the new apartment, the new chapter.

This makes me a little nervous because it seems like eventually I should do something for longer than three years. In your twenties it’s kind of accepted that you’ll bounce around to several different things. I don’t think anyone expects anymore that their first job out of college will be the one that they retire from 43 years later. But at some point, shouldn’t I find something that I want to stay at for longer than 2 years? Because I think it’s going to be kind of a problem if I’m 45 and my resume is still cluttered with jobs that didn’t even break the 4 year mark.

Well, I’m not going to find out yet: I’ve taken a 2-year fellowship position at a public interest firm that I absolutely love. So yeah- I found the job I wanted, and it plays beautifully into my two-year attention span. Having a job, finally? One that I’m looking forward to? Only makes that whole “ready to move on” thing worse. So bring on spring, then summer, the bar exam, the works- I’m ready to go.

