…because I am a liar. I actually realized I didn’t want to quit blogging, I was just uninspired and feeling in the mood to do something dramatic at New Year’s. What I DID want to do, however, was leave Blogger, which has been driving me nuts ever since it sort-of-merged-without-much-explanation with Google. Ugh. Buggy and annoying. (For those of us who write with pseudonyms, but also have non-pseudonymous Google accounts, it would do this fun thing where every once in a while it would recognize “real” you as opposed to “blogger” you and then post your posts or comments under your real name instead of your blogger name which caused me great consternation. Not that I’m all that special and anonymous, but come ON.)

What really convinced me to come back, though, was this little tidbit from our plane flight home from L.A. on New Year’s Day: sitting in front of me was an unaccompanied minor, maybe 10 or 11 years old. As we are about to land, she wriggles around in her chair, then stretches and reaches her arm way up above her and flicks something behind her from off her fingernail. It lands in my lap. It is a BOOGER. She flicked a BOOGER onto me! I’m all for stealthy booger removal generally, and that whole stretch-yawn-flick move was pretty stealthy, but when you’re on a PLANE, and there is someone sitting BEHIND YOU, you DO NOT FLICK YOUR BOOGERS BACKWARDS ONTO THEIR LAPS, YOUNG LADY! And I realized that without a blog I would have no where to express my righteous indignation and my small rant on “kids today and how they have no manners.”

And so I joined wordpress. Archives might make their way over here at some point. Hope any old readers find their way over, and forgive me for being that worst of blogging cliches: she who tries to make a dramatic exit, and fails.

The end.

